Our Team

The branch has generous and supportive patrons, a motivated president and an excellent vice president. Flanked by passionately engaged Branch officers, the committee is elected at the AGM each April.

A welcome from our chair

Dr Maureen O’Neill


Being approached to become Chair of the West Sussex South Branch was a really delightful surprise. I have since attended a fundraising event and an AGM where I was welcomed really warmly by all of the volunteers and fundraisers. I was trained as a graphic designer subsequently becoming a senior lecturer and course leader at The University of Portsmouth, retiring after 33 years in 2018. I cannot think of a better way to use the skills gained throughout my career and time in my retirement to become involved with what is a very important charity which does so much in terms of support, research and care. I really look forward to working in partnership with all of the others involved, needless to say with so much more experience than I, to promote the Motor Neurone Disease Association in any way that I can.

07753 251938

Branch Patrons

Nick Gibb MP
Kay Glendinning MBE

Branch President & Vice Presidents

President: Dr Robert Clifford-Jones
Vice Presidents: Rachel Thomson

Regional Care

Sandra Holden
MND Clinical Nurse Specialist,
Sussex Community NHS Trust

Debbie South
MND Specialist Practitioner,
Community Neuro Rehab Team

Branch Committee

Area Support

Becky Griffiths
Area Support Coordinator
MND Association

Association Visitors

For more information on our AV’s please visit Your Visitors page.

Judith Allen


Judith has been involved with the branch since 2000.

07966 189621‬
Read more

Nicci O’Neill


Nicci’s been involved with our branch since 2014.

Read more

Alastair Sharp


Alastair’s been our branch Treasurer since 2011

Read more

Sue Krueger

Committee Member

Sue’s been involved with our branch since 2006

Read more

Frances Ramsden

Committee Member

Frances is one of our founding members, serving since 1985.

Read more

Dean Donaldson

Committee Member

Dean looks after our digital stuff and joined our branch in 2018

Read more

Committee meetings are held on the 4th Monday at 6pm before branch meetings.

The branch organizes and accepts offers of fundraising to provide specialized equipment and to contribute towards holiday grants or transport or other costs which can improve quality of life. Requests for funding are made via Association Visitors (AV).